Return to Headlines

Four South Carolina Schools recognized as 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools




Columbia, S.C. – State Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman has announced that four South Carolina schools were recognized by the United States Department of Education as 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

“I am so proud of the four South Carolina schools that are being honored nationally for their students' success,” said State Superintendent Molly Spearman.

"Congratulations to all of the students, teachers, staff, and families in these communities for all of their hard work and dedication. Carlisle-Foster’s Grove Elementary School, Lake Murray Elementary School, Ocean Bay Elementary School, and Spearman Elementary School are models of excellence for our entire state and nation,” concluded Spearman.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 9,000 schools. On November 14 and 15, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 312 public and 50 non-public school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. 

The four South Carolina award winners were recognized in the “Exemplary High Performing Schools” category, meaning they are among the state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

The four South Carolina schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools are:

Carlisle-Foster's Grove Elementary School

Spartanburg County School District Two


Lake Murray Elementary School

Lexington County School District One


Ocean Bay Elementary School

Horry County Schools

Myrtle Beach

Spearman Elementary School

Anderson School District One